Home > Interpreters, Python > pyVST – A python wrapper for vst

pyVST – A python wrapper for vst

Interpreted languages are an awsome way of realising ideas very quickly, even if you eventually want to hard code your projects in C. I’ve been looking into python more and more recently (since using SCons as my C++ build tool), and have been having some luck with the numPy package for efficient matrix and array mathematics (gives MATLAB type functionality, but for free). Python is also very easy to integrate with C code.

I’ll try to get something up and running in the near future where you have a pre-compiled dll (and eventually the equivalents on other os) which acts as the gateway between your vst host and Python. This is intended to be a very similar project to jVST, enabling python programmers to achieve similar ease of development. I’m sure it is much better to worry about the DSP and sound quality of your plugin at first without the faff involved with the C++ language and constant compile, recompile cycles.

Keep watching this space and I’ll keep reading up in my spare time and eventually start a source forge project or something similar. Should be fun!

  1. John Seales
    January 16, 2012 at 16:44

    Hi – I’m working on a slightly different problem, I have a generative music app (in Python) and want to pipe realtime midi (and eventually other parameters) to an existing commercial VST.

    I’m looking at the subprocess module, thinking I will use the Popen object. Not sure exactly how it works yet. If you’re interested, I’ll keep you posted as I learn more. And if you or somebody else reading this has some clues, or better, some working code, I’d love to see it.
    john dot h dot seales at g mail.

    • January 17, 2012 at 11:54

      Hi. This blog is dormant now. I have not tinkered with the pyVST idea for years and would not know where to begin to help. Maybe someone will stumble across your post and send you an email. Best of luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

